I Scream for….Sunscreen

I love the sun, but it’s so important to be mindful of how my sun-soaking days will affect me ten to 20 years down the road. At age 20, my mom was diagnosed with basal cell carcinoma, the most common type of skin cancer. Since then, she swears by dousing her face with 80-100 SPF daily (not kidding!) and wearing a big, floppy hat, a long shirt and pants on the beach. I’m sure anyone would think the lengths she goes to are crazy but my mom is probably the youngest looking 60 year old I know. Sure, I still get my heavy daily dose of Vitamin D, but her vigilant ways have definitely rubbed off on me. My absolute must-have this summer is La Roche-Posay Anthelios SPF 60 or any SPF higher sunscreen. It’s light enough for everyday wear, sweat and water-resistant and easy on sensitive skin. It’s also packed with a powerful antioxidant made from a tropical plant extract known to protect skin cells.  The wonders it performs besets the hefty price tag. Look at any beauty or lifestyle magazine and you will probably see this product at the top of the magazine’s list of best sunscreens or under it’s 2011 Summer Essentials list. Bring on the sun!

Leave a Reply

